7 Bookstagrammers Review 11 Different Book Boxes

We are back with a new selection of bookish subscription boxes to review, some are even no book- book boxes! I love doing these collaborative reviews because it is important to hear other’s opinions. I hope you enjoy our reviews and find a new one to try. Some of us even tried calculating the value of the box versus the cost. We do this by checking vendor/competitor prices for similar items. The prices you see below do no include shipping and handling. I am really interested to hear what you think about our reviews. What did you like? What boxes do you want us to review next?

The Bookish Box @thebookishbox

bookishjan

Price- $43 Rating 5/5

The Bookish Box is a company that caters to all ages with their YA, Adult fiction, and newly added kids box. They also feature special edition boxes centered around a specific fandom.  January’s Galactic Adventures box was my second month receiving The Bookish Box, and I have to admit that I was completely satisfied.  All of the items appealed to me and I fangirled over a few of them. This months box included the following: individualized monthly calendars- January was illustrated by Stella Bookish Art and February by Hey Atlas Creative, a gorgeous tote bag inspired by The Lunar Chronicles and designed by Evie Bookish, “Also I can kill you with my brain.” Firefly quote magnet and Star Wars themed T-shirt both created by The Bookish Shop, an adorable Galactic necklace, “We books have come to the Darkside” double sided bookmark designed by Dust And Pages, the adult book The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, and their monthly doodle illustrated by Dooodles by Christina. Truthfully, it’s a little difficult to choose which item is my favorite since all stood out for me this month. But if I’d have to choose it would be between the T-shirt and the bookmark.  Overall, it was an incredible box and I’m excited for February’s Fantasy Friendships theme. You can use XIOMYS to receive 10% off February’s box.

By Xiomy @xiomys_book_tales

 

Nerdy Post Box @nerdy.post

nerdyjan

Price- $13.95    Rating- 4/5

Nerdy Post is a monthly subscription box that features varying size art prints, bookmarks, stickers, notepads, etc…  January’s theme was Disney Villains now while I do enjoy watching Disney movies, I’m not too much of a fan of villains. I just tend to have difficulty skipping months, since the price for all the items featured in my opinion are worth it! Therefore, the items included in this box are:  “I wondrous future lies before you” Maleficent print, double sided bookmark (side 1) “How can you read this? There are no pictures” Gaston quote designed by Calligraphy Nerd (size 2) “I don’t have time for that nonsense” Shere Khan quote created by Unlucky Design, “Miserable as usual, darling. Perfectly wretched” Cruella de Vil mini print designed by Reverie and Ink, Ink and Wonder Designs Yzma sticker quote “It’s brilliant, brilliant, brilliant I tell you! Genius, I say!”, Mother Gothel mini print “Mother knows best”, Hades “Memo to me, memo to me: Maim you after my meeting” notepad, The Shadowman lapel pin, and their monthly postcard showcasing Madame Mim “Did I say no purple dragons? Did I?”. As the boxes increase in price so do the items, personally I wasn’t disappointed by the box it just didn’t impress me (again I’m not a villain fan).  But there were items I enjoyed such as the Hades notepad, the bookmark since those are always great additions, and Mother Gothel’s print as it is part of one of my favorite movies Tangled!

By Xiomy @xiomys_book_tales

 

Dreamers & Fairies Book Box @dreamersandfairies

fairiesjan

Price $35.99 Rating- 4.5/5  (5/5 if it had been a new release book) Value- $45+

I have to say, I was impressed by my first Dreamers & Fairies Book Box! They’re a new company, and this was their first box, yet they still managed to include some awesome stuff from very well-known companies (like Behind the Pages and Novel Heartbeat Creations) based upon popular fandoms. The items were very good quality and also useful, and I thought it was so cute that they provided a playlist that corresponded to the month’s theme! It might be a downside for some that the January book was not a new release, but it was a book I don’t think many would have already owned, and it came highly recommended by the creators of the box (who are wonderfully sweet).  The price of the box  + shipping is reasonable. Box included: an ACOTAR themed lip balm (Behind the Pages), an Adventure Awaits candle (Novel Heartbeat Creations) , a Harry Potter hair tie (unFOEgettablefandom), a Narnia book matches (HereForevermore), a Caraval quote bookmark (ThatBookieBookmarks), an exclusive Dreamers & Fairies bookmark, an Outlander luggage tag (Destination Handmade), a The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst,  a spoiler card/print of theme art, and a printed playlist. You can use FAIRYINFINITE10  to receive 10% off February’s box.

By Meryn @infinitefantasies_

 

Fairyloot @fairyloot

fairylootjan

Price – £32.95 Rating – 4 1/2/5  Estimated Value – £50

Everything in this box was amazing! I had already read the book before I got this and I loved it; the candle that matches the book smells so good. The reason for half a star mark down is the for colouring book as I don’t really use them.

By Megan @constantbookhangover

 

Vellum Box @vellumbox

vellum

Price- 29.99-31.99 Rating- 4.5 Value- $40

Vellum Box is a brand new subscription box  with an exclusive  bookish t-shirt each month with a few other bookish items. February’s theme is Bound to Paradise, and it included  an exclusive tee from @bookwormboutique, a bookmark from @whitesaturdayco, a glasses pin from @torrancegunther, and a library catalog card notebook. I enjoyed this theme because I frequently use my public library. The higher quality items in the box make up for the lack of a book; I would have given this box 5 stars if it had come with a book instead of a journal. I do not personally enjoy receiving journals in book boxes (this is my third one). I use planners instead, but this cover is adorable and will be fun to use in pictures. You can use GIRLSINBOOKS10 to receive 10% off March’s box.

By Lisa @girlsinbooks

 

LitJoy Crate @litjoycrate

Price- $29.99 Rating- 5/5 Value- $66+

batman

LitJoy Crate is a monthly subscription box with three genre options: YA, Middle grades, or picture book. January’s Batman Crate included a signed copy of Batman Nightwalker by Marie Lu, a Batman keychain bottle opener, a Batman signal projector pen, nail polish, a Batman double layer candle from @acourtofcandles, a crane origami necklace, Batman quote zipper pouch designed by @eviebookish, and a beautiful print by @arz28. I found all the items really useful in this box, and I plan to order another box in the future. I also like that their subscription service allows for subscribers to skip a month without being charged. The only thing I was disappointed in was the nail polish chipping after only a few days; I had to keep touching it up throughout the week.

By Lisa @girlsinbooks

PageHabit @pagehabit

pagehabit

Price- $32 Rating- 2.5/5

For the month of January I subscribed to the PageHabit sci-fi book box. The positives of the box start with the company’s donations to children’s literacy across the world and end with the fact that their books come with annotations from the author. Like most book boxes, this one came with bonus items–let’s call them extra for the sake of accuracy. While the idea of the box is great, the price is not worth it considering the extra items were tiny pencils, a Harry Potter bookmark, and another (uglier) bookmark (not pictured because I lost it). I would say it’s the thought that counts, but I spent money on this disappointment.

By Danny @bookteafull  and Petal @floralbookay

 

Enchanted Fandom @enchanted_fandoms_

enchanted

Price- $39.99 Rating- 5/5

This was my first month repping for Jess and she is amazing! This months theme was intergalactic planetary, and it was out of this world! My favorite item was definitely the Ghibli art pillow case. The amount of fandoms included are wonderful. Use my rep code for your subscription purchase CANX15 and save on February’s box themed Tangled in Feels which is going to be amazing!

By Candice @canxdancexreads

 

Owlcrate @owlcrate

owlcrate

Price- $29.99 Rating- 5/5

January theme was Fearsome Fairytales, and it is wonderful. This months box has to be one of my all time favorites. The exclusive cover for The Cruel Prince is amazing, and I love every single item. Plus an actual signed book this month!

By Candice @canxdancexreads

 

Whimsify @whimsifybox

whimsify

Price- 34.95 Rating- 3/3

This was my first ever Whimsify box. I wasn’t all that impressed. My favorite item besides the book was the wood Hunger Games bookmark. Less in this box than I expected but still some enjoyable items for the A Whole New World Theme. Hopefully next month will impress me more.

By Candice @canxdancexreads

 

My Guilty Pleasures Book Crate @myguiltypleasuresbookcrate

mgp

Price-  29.99 Rating- 5/5

Once again I am amazed at how wonderful this crate is. This box had some very high quality items, and the theme Royal Darkness included some wonderful fandoms. My favorite item is definitely the Snape bookmark, but I loved everything. I look forward to each month for this exciting crate.

By Candice @canxdancexreads

 

4 thoughts on “7 Bookstagrammers Review 11 Different Book Boxes

Leave a comment