Say You’ll Remember Me Book Review

Say You'll Remember MeSay You’ll Remember Me by Katie McGarry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Drix was convicted of a crime–one he didn’t commit–he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the new Second Chance Program, the governor’s newest pet project to get delinquents off the streets, rehabilitated and back into society. Drix knows this is his chance to get his life back on track, even if it means being paraded in front of reporters for a whi When Drix was convicted of a crime–one he didn’t commit–he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the new Second Chance Program, the governor’s newest pet project to get delinquents off the streets, rehabilitated and back into society. Drix knows this is his chance to get his life back on track, even if it means being paraded in front of reporters for a while.

Elle knows she lives a life of privilege. As the governor’s daughter, she can open doors with her name alone. But the expectations and pressure to be someone she isn’t may be too much to handle. She wants to follow her own path, whatever that means.

When Drix and Elle meet, their connection is immediate, but so are their problems. Drix is not the type of boy Elle’s parents have in mind for her, and Elle is not the kind of girl who can understand Drix’s messy life.

But sometimes love can breach all barriers.

Fighting against a society that can’t imagine them together, Drix and Elle must push themselves–Drix to confront the truth of the robbery, and Elle to assert her independence–and each other to finally get what they deserve.

say2

Romance-y language:

McGarry’s writing is so captivating; I did not want to put this book down. This was such a tasteful YA romance story; it captured all the feelings without any sex scenes. The most steamy scene said, “Drix wraps both of his arms around me, and those strong steel bands are the best comforting blanket I’ve ever known. He kisses the side of my head, and he pulls me back until there’s no space between us. My temple is against his, and when he tilts his head, he nibbles on my ear, and my entire body comes alive.” I really hope McGarry decides to write more YA fiction because I am now a huge fan.

say3

Relevance:

This story is a modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet that brings up really important issues like the “school-to-prison pipeline,” sexual harassment, and drug and domestic abuse. Drix described what it was like growing up in poverty, “It’s every time we try to dig out of a hole, someone’s shoveling more crap on top of us. There will never be a way out.” In other words, it was so hard for Drix to turn his life around because one problem after another was piled on top of him. These are really important issues that I am not an expert on so it gave me a lot to think about. I have someone close to me who was unrightful accused of a crime and convicted. Racism definitely did play a big role in the arrest so I have no doubt a lot of the issues discussed in their book are real issues today.

say

My Recommendations:

I’m not a huge contemporary romance reader, but I can safely state “Say You’ll Remember Me” by Katie McGarry is my favorite contemporary read of 2018. I recommend this book for anyone interested in a clean romance novel. I think all ages from 13 and up will really enjoy McGarry’s beautiful language. Also, if you are annoyed by obvious plot twists, then give this one a try because I did not see the plot twist coming.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

Connect with Katie

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

image1

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Say You’ll Remember Me Book Review

Leave a comment