Ink and Bone Book Review

Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1)Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“The library isn’t a person. It doesn’t have a conscience, or a heart or a soul. It does what it has to do to survive!:

Why I chose to read this book:

I chose to read Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine because it is not often I have the pleasure of reading a book about books! Also, the third book in the trilogy is coming out July 11th! The ratings were high on Goodreads so I thought I’d give it a shot.

image1 (2)

My synopsis:

To briefly sum up the intricacies of this story: The main character, Jess, lives in the year 2031; a world in which books are more important than human life. The Great Library of Alexandria controls the circulation of novels. It is against the law to own copies of books; instead everyone basically owns a tablet (a code) and can only access the books the library allows them to see. Through Jesse’s love of reading and knowledge, he uncovers the true villains of his own story.

My likes:

I really enjoyed this book because it was action packed from page one, and there was no mid-book slump. Between learning about the burners, ink lickers, and librarians, I was so busy trying to figure out who were the actual “good” guys, I flew through this novel. It was also refreshing to read a book that did not focus on a love story. It was nice to have a story told from a male protagonist’s point of view because YA lit is saturated with heroines. This book was a nice change from the usual.

Caine touches on themes of censorship, terrorism, war, rebellion, betrayal and others that are relevant to today. Her ability to tie together the past and present proves the age old saying that history often repeats itself.

image1 (3)

I cannot forget to mention the cover art. It is gorgeous! It features books burning at the bottom and guarding statues roaring at the top. The cover itself is textured, and even the spine is colorful and detailed.

Who would enjoy this book?

I would recommend this book to fans of historical fiction and fantasy fiction because Rachel Caine is able to tie elements of both together nicely. Fans of Fahrenheit 451 and 1984 will devour this story. I really hope one of the next books in the series takes place in the rebellious American Territories.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Ink and Bone Book Review

Leave a comment